Can You Legally Spit on People in Colorado?
I try my best to be a polite person, but I'll be the first to admit that I have a bit of a temper. In my defense, it's usually reserved for egregious disrespect and blatant stupidity, but that doesn't make it OK. This is why, again, I try as hard as I can to be a polite person.
No matter how angry I have ever been in my life, and believe me, I've been pretty angry a time or two, it has literally never occurred to me to ever spit on someone. Whether in the face or just in someone's general direction, spitting seems so low as to be offensive no matter who you are, or where you come from. In my humble opinion, it's the ultimate case of, "What are you, five?"
We've all heard the old saying, "I'm so angry I could spit!" Well, there are plenty of spitters out there who take that to heart, even if they just like to spit at the ground near your feet like in an old western movie. It doesn't matter how cool you think you look when you're doing it, spitting is incredibly gross and should not be allowed in a polite society. But, is it actually illegal?
Well, in a manner of speaking, it turns out that it actually is illegal to spit on someone in Colorado. It would fall under the classification of 'Battery', a misdemeanor according to Colorado law. Assuming something as minor as spittle would be a Class 2 misdemeanor, and therefore a lesser charge, you could be looking at up to 120 days in jail, and/or up to $750 in fines.
Yeah, considering I'm not one for spitting on people in the first place, it's definitely not an activity I'd deem worthy of $750. So, next time you're so angry that you could spit, maybe think twice. Then think a third time, and a fourth or fifth, if need be; however long it takes for you to decide not to do it, or to get bored and forget what you were doing, anyway.